Skip to content Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Structure of OTUWA

To effectively moderate its activities, OTUWA has the following structures:

  1. Executive Committee: This is made up of the President, two Vice Presidents, and a Financial Secretary/Treasurer – who are elected on a 4-year tenure, renewable once; the Executive Secretary is an ex-officio member, Chairperson of the Women’s Sub-Committee of the General Council and Chairperson of the Youth Sub-Committees of the General Council.The duties of the Executive Committee include; determining the objectives to be achieved; developing the plan of action and ensure its implementation; reviewing the progress report; and Propose the amount to be paid as affiliation fees during its term of office, among others.
  2. General Council: Made up of one representative from each of the fifteen member countries of ECOWAS, the General Council meets once in a year, and has as its principal duty, decision-making in the absence of Congress. It operate two standing committees; namely:
  • Standing Committee on Women: This composed of 15 members (one representative from each of the fifteen member countries of ECOWAS). They meet once in a year.
  • Standing Committee on Youth: 15 members (one representative from each of the fifteen member countries of ECOWAS). They meet once in a year.
  1. Congress: It is the highest decision-making organ and meets once in every four years. It consists of all duly accredited delegates representing each affiliate member of OTUWA based on the principle of proportional representation.

The Congress meets to: (i) consider proposals for amendments to the Constitution and Standing Orders; (ii) consider policy proposals and major policy platforms; (iii) consider provisional budget proposals for the coming quadrennial; (iv) elect members into the governing structures and relevant committees; (v) consider reports from the General Council; (vi) fix the rate of affiliation fees, and any other duties or functions as may be contained in the OTUWA constitution.

  1. The Executive Secretariat: The Executive Secretariat is headed by the Executive Secretary and supported by programme officers and other support staff. The Executive Secretary is the chief administrative officer of OTUWA and performs the following functions:
  • Serve as an ex-officio member of Congress.
  • Liaise with ECOWAS in consultation with the President of the Executive Committee and may seek support from friendly organisations to implement the Programme and Budget of the OTUWA.
  • Develop the programmes and the budget of the OTUWA,
  • Be the chief Rapporteur, coordinate programmes and projects, disseminate information, carry out the activities of the OTUWA and be responsible for financial management.
  • Take part in all meetings of the Executive Committee and shall be the Rapporteur.
  • Fill vacant posts within the Executive Secretariat by announcing internally. Equal opportunity shall be offered to all member countries.
  • Plan, organize and provide the logistics for all the programmes and projects.
  • Coordinate and implement the plan of action,
  • Provide accurate, consistent and reliable information and reports to the governing bodies, the members and the general public.
  • Publicise press releases and relevant correspondences.
  • Prepare the agenda and call meetings in consultation with the President of the Executive Committee.
  • Perform other functions as provided for in the Standing Orders and any other duties assigned by the Congress or Executive Committee from time to time.